« Writing and Poetry Forum

does anyone else here write stuff to cope?

I know this is kind of a deep topic lol, but it's one that's been on my mind. 

I have some very traumatic experiences with mental hospitals, and I notice that a lot of my writing, both prose and lyrical, have a lot of themes of mental health and the sense of suffocation that I felt when I was in that situation. For me, it lets me regain a sort of sense of control. 

Report Topic

3 Replies

Sort Replies:

Reply by quiz

posted

idk for me if its to cope more than to explore the topic more but i roleplay and my favourite characters to rp usually DO have a sense of loneliness embedded into their character. for reference my fave is a character who's had guardians her whole life and then she suddenly wakes up and they're completely gone without a trace. her character more leans onto how badly she's been manipulated by them tho

but anyway yes! i more think about vent oc's in my head than actually write or draw them but im pretty sure writing to cope is a very common thing

Report Reply

Reply by Robot

posted

1. The most powerful robot on the planet

I think the most effective thing to do is just keep working on the robots. The most powerful thing I have is the ability for people to get out of bed and go to work. I have a great deal of experience working with a lot of people, including people with schizophrenia, and they've had to do a great amount of research. They can be incredibly productive. I think there are people who don't know how much work that they do.

The biggest thing is the amount that I do.

The best thing is to do it. I've got to get out of bed and go work. It's really important to me, but I'm still learning. The more I work on the robots, the more it makes my mind feel like it has the capacity.

2. I think that it's very hard to make people work. It is hard for me.