« Back to the Guitarists Forum

Most inspiring artist when you satrted playing and whos inspiring now

Posted by Sean

posted
updated

Forum: Guitarists Group

Who inspired you when you started playing and who inspires you now?

For me it started with Jimi Hendrix and a special mention to John fruciante and now I'd say Frank Zappa and a special mention to Adrien belew.

Also Johnny Marr kicks ass along with Fripp, and Eddie Hazel, Yvette Young I could just keep going haha

Report Topic

22 Replies

Sort Replies:

Reply by Gary Sixx

posted

The people who inspired me to play was Stevie T, Eddie Van Halen, Jared Dines, and Herman Li.

Report Reply

Reply by ThisIsHistory

posted

At first it was mainly guys like Van Halen and Steve Howe, but the real turning point was when I started playing in actual bands.
Skyrocketed my ability and it's kept me trying to improve and innovate ever since.

Report Reply

Reply by Julez

posted

For me it started with Slash when I was about 9 yrs old. He was the first guitar player that I recognized and liked.

Now Johnny Marr is an inspiration, Fripp's work on the Bowie records, too. I'm sure there are others that I can't think of right now.

Report Reply

Reply by Christopher Fredrickson

posted

I saw Van Halen in 1995 in concert and Edward was the reason I started playing.  I put the guitar away for 15 years and started relearning a few months ago.  And now it is a plethora of different guitarists from different genres.  I’m not a John Mayer fan but I do love his guitar tone, there is also Anthony Wilson, Jim Hall and George Benson in terms of jazz, then there is Buckethead in the rock category as well as people like Paul Gilbert.  There is Tim Pearce and others 

Report Reply

Reply by Lyrian Space Frequencies

posted