« Religion and Philosophy Forum

Are you in a cult?

No, not Hollywood's depiction of a cult. 

They're everywhere, they're there, they're H E R E 👀👁🧠

-
-

I was raised in a christian cult (though some may disagree with the terminology, i have 18 years experience in it so i promise i know what I'm talking about) 

I was raised with the teachings of Jehovah's Witnesses. 

As a kid i was told stories about how one day soon, God's kingdom would be brought into being, everyone who isn't a Jehovah's Witness would soon D I E. 
Yes, D I E. 

I remember it like it was yesterday that my 8 year old self was listening to my grandmother talking about "those who turn away from us on the day of judgement will feel their eyes melt out of their skull!" 
And the other lovely story about the birds pecking the 7+billion dead bodies lying in the street until they were just bones.

In all seriousness, i just want to point out that there ARE kind and loving people in all religions and all belief systems. None of these innocent victims of religious abuse deserve hate, i was just as misguided as they were at one point. Treat everybody with love and respect! 

------

That being said, just because there are genuine human beings, that doesn't excuse the behavior of the organization/system as a whole. 

First and foremost we need to talk about the thousands of files in Warwick, New York being held secret by the top of the organization. 
Thousands of cases of Child Sexual Abuse are held, every single day that passes by. These reports come directly from Kingdom Halls (JW churches) where children or parents approach elders (church leaders) with information of an abuser within the congregation. 

Most, if not all of these cases are dismissed by the elders because of a simple little rule of theirs called "the two witness rule."