« Art and Photography Forum

art tips!

Posted by enuui

posted

Forum: Art and Photography

hello!

art can be very hard, especially with all the tips n learning you have to do, like color theory and proper anatomy.

so i want to make this little post a home for art tips! that way, new artists and well seasoned ones can learn a thing or two.

i'll start!

practice!! practice doesn't make perfect, but it makes progress. i started drawing when i was 4. people made fun of my art, but i never gave up. i just found more opportunities to learn. and people still do make fun of my art! but that's ok, because i'll always get better at art in the end, and you will too, if you put your mind to it! ^^

artists, please feel free to share art tips below! your contributions will be appreciated.

Report Topic

7 Replies

Sort Replies:

Reply by ColbyLaverne

posted

I have one, but it might be a litttttle controversial. I say it’s ok to trace. Tracing helped me learn very important aspects of art,and it even helped me grow my own art style at an early age. Use references and inspiration, It’s completely ok to do so! 

Most importantly, have fun with your art. In my opinion, art shouldn’t be something to stress over, it should be a form of free and enjoyable expression! 

Report Reply

Reply by Tabaki

posted
updated

1. as someone said before, it's okay to trace when learning! It's also important to be transparent when you heavily reference/trace something if you publish it! Many artists post their studies along with the original picture. As long as the transparency is there it's usually fine :)
    For the record, in many occasions in this industry you'll be directly asked to trace/alter from a work of an artist in the same company. This is seen as okay especially because even if the authorship is yours and the other artist's, the copyright belongs to the company itself. So it's as if you're just using the same blob of content.