« Back to the Reclaiming the Internet Forum

What is the best minimal browser?

I have been looking for a browser/add-on that can block all cookies, CSS, and JS. I know there are a few that do that, but which one would be the best for privacy and decentralization on Windows? (I know using Windows is a cardinal sin in terms of centralization, but work with me here. I am a college student who needs Office 365 for their assignments, unfortunately.)

I do know of the PaleMoon browser and nMatrix add-on, if you know where on the internet I got that info from, kudos to you! Let me know if there is a better browser/add-on.

Report Topic

7 Replies

Sort Replies:

Reply by Virtual Insanity

posted
updated

Rather than trying to find the best browser / add-ons, you may be better off using multiple browsers for clearly defined separate tasks.  Cookies are confined to each browser.

If you have a Google account use Google Chrome for things signed into your Google account and nothing else.  The only exception might be to visit websites to feed Google false or confusing information about yourself.

Use another browser for Google sites you use not signed into Google.  Maybe you don't want your YouTube watch history tied to a Google identity.  Never sign into Google on this browser.

If you use Facebook / Meta / IG etc. probably best use a separate browser for that.

You could have another browser (one of the hardened ones) for general browsing and perhaps another for shopping.  A browser for shopping could have / may need more lenient settings than you use for general browsing.

My top picks would be: -

Librewolf (a hardened Firefox)
Mullvad (a hardened Firefox)
Firefox (but harden it)
Brave

A little behind those would be Ungoogled Chromium and way behind that would be just about everything else: Chromium, Chrome, Edge, Safari, Vivaldi, Opera.

https://privacytests.org/